Board of Directors

  • Douglas J. Hajek

    Douglas J. Hajek


    Douglas J. Hajek is Chairman of the Board of Directors of Meta Financial Group and MetaBank. He is a lawyer concentrating in corporate and financial services matters with over thirty years of experience and practices with the law firm of Davenport, Evans, Hurwitz & Smith, LLP. Previously, Hajek held management positions in commercial banking at U.S. Bank and two independent banks. Hajek serves as vice chair of the South Dakota Building Authority and is a member of the Finance Council of the Catholic Diocese of Sioux Falls. Hajek graduated from South Dakota State University (B.S.), the University of Northern Colorado (M.A.), and the University of South Dakota School of Law.

    Chairman of the Board
    • Brad Hanson

      Bradley C. Hanson


      Bradley C. Hanson is a member of the Board of Directors of Meta Financial Group.  Hanson has served as a member of the Board of Directors of Meta Financial Group and MetaBank since 2005.  He transitioned off the MetaBank Board in September 2021. With more than 25 years of experience in banking, payment cards, and financial technology, Hanson has been widely recognized for the significant role he played in the development of the prepaid card industry.  Hanson joined MetaBank in May 2004 where he founded Meta Payment Systems and became its President.  After serving as President of Meta Financial Group and MetaBank, he was appointed both President and Chief Executive Officer of Meta Financial Group and MetaBank in October 2018.  Hanson retired from Meta Financial Group and MetaBank in September 2021. Before joining Meta Financial Group, Hanson served as a Senior Vice President at BankFirst where he gained experience in retail banking, mortgage lending, and credit cards in addition to managing the technology and project management functions for the bank.  Hanson holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Economics from the University of South Dakota and has served on various nonprofit boards including his current role as a member of the Global Board for Operation HOPE.

      • Elizabeth G. Hoople

        Elizabeth G. Hoople


        Elizabeth G. Hoople is a member of the Board of Directors of Meta Financial Group and MetaBank. Hoople currently works as a financial services consultant with Bank On Marketing, a consulting firm she formed in March 2013, specializing in business strategy, marketing and payments product development. Until March 2013, she served as head of marketing for Wells Fargo for 15 years and holds several patents for developing “My Spending Report,” an online personal financial and budgeting tool for Hoople previously held management positions with Providian Financial and also with Citigroup, at which she introduced the world’s first major Photocard product. She holds a bachelor’s degree from Bowling Green State University in Ohio.

      • Michael R. Kramer

        Michael R. Kramer


        Michael R. Kramer is a member of the Board of Directors of Meta Financial Group and MetaBank. Since 2004, Kramer has been a member at the law firm Dickinson Wright, PLLC, legal counsel to Crestmark. Prior to that, Kramer was a senior partner at Miro Weiner & Kramer from 1995 to 2004. He has been a lawyer since 1968, concentrating on corporate, real estate and banking and financial services matters. Kramer received a B.A. in Business from Miami University and a J.D. from Wayne State University Law School. Kramer previously served as Chairman of the Board of Trustees for Oakland University in Rochester, Michigan.

      • ron_mccray

        Ronald D. McCray

        Ronald D. McCray is a member of the Board of Directors of Meta Financial Group and MetaBank. McCray is an advisor at RLJ Equity Partners, a private equity firm. Previously, from 2014 to 2016, McCray was Chairman, and from 2015 to 2016 Chairman, Interim President and Chief Executive Officer of Career Education Corporation (now Perdoceo Education Corporation). From 2007 to 2009 he was Chief Administrative Officer at NIKE, Inc. Prior to that, from 1987 to 2007, McCray served in various roles as a lawyer at Kimberly Clark Corporation, including as SVP, Law and Government Affairs and Chief Compliance Officer. McCray is on the Board of Directors of Dallas News Corporation and PowerSchool, LLC. McCray also serves as vice chairman of the board of trustees of Cornell University. He received his undergraduate degree in Government from Cornell University, and his J.D. from Harvard Law School.
      • Frederick V. Moore

        Frederick V. Moore


        Frederick V. Moore is a member of the Board of Directors of Meta Financial Group and MetaBank. Moore has served as an Executive Search Consultant with AGB Search since July 2017. He also serves on the Executive Advisory Board of Campus Works, a company that provides consultation technology-based services to higher education, a post he has held since July 2017. Moore served as President of Buena Vista University in Storm Lake, Iowa from 1995 until June 2017, when he was named President Emeritus. Moore is an attorney who holds a J.D. with Honors, M.B.A. and B.A. degrees from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He worked in corporate America as a strategic planner, financial analyst, and marketing executive.

      • Becky S. Shulman

        Becky S. Shulman

        Becky S. Shulman is the Vice-Chair of the Board of Directors of Meta Financial Group and MetaBank. Shulman is the President and Chief Operating Officer of Card Compliant, LLC, a compliance specialty company serving the prepaid and stored value card industry, headquartered in Kansas City, Missouri. Prior to joining Card Compliant in 2012, Shulman held several executive positions in the financial services and tax industries, including CFO and Treasurer of H&R Block, Inc. and Deputy CFO of LPL Financial. She also served on the Board of Directors of H&R Block Bank from 2009 until its sale in 2015 and previously held the position of Chief Investment Officer of U.S. Central Credit Union. Shulman graduated from Eastern Illinois University with a B.S. degree in Computer Management and received her MBA from the University of Illinois.
        Vice-Chair of the Board
      • Kendall E. Stork

        Kendall E. Stork


        Kendall E. Stork is a member of the Board of Directors of Meta Financial Group and MetaBank. In 2016, Stork retired as Sioux Falls Site President for Citibank, a position he held for 17 years. He was previously the President and CEO of Citibank, South Dakota where he served for 12 years as a Board Member, seven of those as Chair. Stork graduated from the University of Nebraska – Lincoln with a Bachelor’s degree in Business with an emphasis in Accounting.

      • Liz Zlatkus

        Lizabeth H. Zlatkus

        Lizabeth H. Zlatkus is a member of the Board of Directors of Meta Financial Group and MetaBank. Zlatkus previously held various executive positions at The Hartford Financial Services Group during her 28-year tenure, including Chief Financial Officer and Chief Risk Officer, as well as Co-President of Hartford Life Insurance Companies. Zlatkus serves on the Boards of Directors of Axis Capital Holdings Limited, Boston Private Financial Holdings, Inc., and SE2 Holdings, LLC, a privately held technology services company. Zlatkus graduated with distinction from The Pennsylvania State University with a B.S. in Accounting.